Wishing death to fashioncore since 2005

Memoirs of a Metalhead – My Gateway Songs

The riffs that started it all

queen-bohemian-rhapsody-still

Partly inspired by that ’10 albums from your teens’ post that was trending on Facebook recently, I’ve been thinking back to the tracks that acted as a springboard to the bands and genres I’ve become interested in since, and decided to gather them together. Here they all are – I’ve done my best to list them in the order that I became introduced, but I can’t be sure on the exact order after all this time.

Queen – Bohemian Rhapsody

I’m sure we’ve all reenacted that scene from Wayne’s World at some point. Party on.

Def Leppard – Let’s Get Rocked

Their cover of ‘Action’ also deserves a mention. One of their previous albums, ‘Hysteria’, has since become one of my favourite albums.

Guns ‘n’ Roses – You Could Be Mine

I think it’s this song that helped me develop an appreciation for building intros.

Michael Jackson – Give In To Me feat. Slash

I was already listening to Michael Jackson before I got into rock music. The riffs in this song took me further.

En Vogue – Free Your Mind

This one might surprise a few people. It’s overlooked by the rock community/press, but in my opinion is actually better than a lot of the proper attempts at ‘crossover’ tracks from other artists.

Soul Asylum – Runaway Train

My introduction to grunge. Don’t listen to it much these days. Be warned, this video is a little heavy going, given the subject matter, but it did help in finding many missing people.

H-Blockx – Move

I’d actually forgotten about this one until, well, writing this. I’ve got the single somewhere.

Soundgarden – Black Hole Sun

Another amongst the first grunge tracks I got into. It would be a little while before I also got into the likes of Alice In Chains and Stone Temple Pilots.

Die Krupps – Isolation

My introduction to industrial music, think I first heard it on Ray Cokes’s ‘Most Wanted’ show, back when MTV played music.

Metallica – One

The first time I ever knowingly listened to them, and it blew me away. To date I still regard this as one of the greatest metal tracks ever.

Mutha’s Day Out – Green

Well, I could post the whole album, as they were one of the first rock/metal bands I got into. A guy I knew at the time recorded this on to a tape for me, and on the b-side of that tape was a mix of things, which included the aforementioned Soundgarden track, Pearl Jam’s ‘Go’, and also….

Biohazard – Love Denied

….this track. At the time, I wasn’t even aware that there was a genre of heavy music known as ‘hardcore’, but this was my introduction to that form of metal.

So there they are, my first steps into heavy music. I had no idea at the time just how important those steps would become.

Leave a Reply

